What is Chakra?

The word “chakra” is a Sanskrit word that means wheel or circle. Chakras are vortices of energy or life force flowing in a circular motion. Each vortex of energy has the capacity to receive, assimilate and transmit life force.

There are many chakras in the human body, with seven major ones located along the spine, and a minor chakra located in the palms of each hand and on the sole of each foot. We can imagine each chakra as two cones, with the narrow ends back to back and the wider openings facing outward in both the front and the back of the body. All the chakras in our body are designed to hold specific qualities of energy and have distinct effects on our experience of life. In its perfection, each chakra holds within it a high vibration energy that serves us to express the fullness of our Divinity.  For example, in its pure state our solar plexus chakra is a gateway to connect with our Divine will and to draw from an unlimited source of strength and power.  However, the chakras can also hold lower vibrational energies that correspond to its innate energetic quality. For example, the solar plexus chakra is often the place where we hold the energy of low self-esteem and anger.

Working with the chakras is a powerful tool to enable us to become clear conduits for spirit.   Many of us have energetic blocks in our chakras due to how we have responded to life experiences.  These energetic blocks affect our physical, emotional and mental well-being. Ideally the chakras spin freely, allowing for a continual transformation of energy and an unimpeded flow of energy throughout the body.   When this occurs we become more open to experiencing ourselves as embodiments of spirit.

What are the Powers of Chakras?

The chakras are said to be the wheels of energy in our bodies that govern our physical, mental, and emotional well-being. Each chakra is associated with a different aspect of our lives, and when they are balanced, we are said to be healthy, happy, and peaceful.

What are the Seven Main Chakras?

Root Chakra (Muladhara): located at the base of the spine, this chakra is associated with our sense of safety and security. When balanced, we feel grounded and stable.

Sacral Chakra (Svadhisthana): located just below the navel, this chakra is associated with our creativity, sexuality, and pleasure. When balanced, we feel confident and joyful.

Solar Plexus Chakra (Manipura): located in the stomach area, this chakra is associated with our sense of personal power and self-esteem. When balanced, we feel in control and confident.

Heart Chakra (Anahata): located in the center of the chest, this chakra is associated with love, compassion, and forgiveness. When balanced, we feel open and connected to others.

Throat Chakra (Vishuddha): located in the throat, this chakra is associated with communication and self-expression. When balanced, we feel confident and able to express ourselves clearly.

Third Eye Chakra (Ajna): located between the eyebrows, this chakra is associated with intuition and insight. When balanced, we feel clear-headed and connected to our inner wisdom.

Crown Chakra (Sahasrara): located at the top of the head, this chakra is associated with our connection to the divine. When balanced, we feel open to new possibilities and spiritually connected.

When all of our chakras are in balance, we feel healthy, happy, and whole. However, when one or more chakras are out of balance, we may feel physically, mentally, or emotionally unhealthy. By working on balancing our chakras, we can improve our overall health and wellbeing.

How Do You Open Your Chakras?

There are a number of ways to open your chakras. Some people may use meditation or breath work to help clear and open their chakras. Others may use more physical methods, such as yoga or reiki.

Pin It on Pinterest